ICC World Cup 2019

ICC World Cup 2019 Schedule, Fixtures, Time Table, Venue Details & Ticket Prices

ICC World Cup 2019  Schedule, Fixtures, Time Table, Venue Details & Ticket Prices

ICC World Cup 2019 England and Wales will play host to 2019 world cup after winning the rights over a decade ago. The hosting rights to 2011, 2015 and 2019 world were awarded simultaneously in 2006. Initially, England and Wales put in a joint bid for the 2015 world cup. However, after Australia was beaten out by a joint Asian bid for the 2011 tournament they were offered the hosting rights in 2015. England and Wales were guaranteed the rights to 2019 if they agreed to withdraw their 2015 bid, which they promptly did. England was also granted the rights to the first ever T20 world cup in 2007 at the same time. The cricket tournament was originally going to be an invitational but after all twelve full and provisional members accepted the invitation the ICC granted it official status.

The first world cup was held in 1975 just four years after one day cricket took the world by storm. It was the ICC’s official response to the ‘World series of cricket’ Phenomenon which was proving incredibly popular with fans. In the last 40 years, the tournament has been held all over the cricketing world and has been won by teams from every corner of the globe. The tournament in 2019 will be the twelfth time the competition has been played and the fifth time it has been played in the UK. England and Wales have previously hosted in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.

Only 10 teams will qualify for the 2019 world cup after a decision was taken to shrink the size of the tournament. In 2011 and in 2015 the tournament had 14 teams but ICC have decided few nations will make for a better competition. England will qualify automatically because they are hosting the tournament, as will the top seven one day international nations according to the latest ICC rankings 6 months prior to the tournament.

However, that leaves only two spots for the remaining test playing nations and affiliate members of the ICC. Those places have been taken by Afghanistan and West Indies at a qualifying tournament which was held in Bangladesh in March 2018. This tournament included the remaining four teams that failed to make the top seven one day international spots plus the top four teams from the Cricket World League Championships.

ICC World Cup 2019 Teams Qualified for the 2019 Cricket World Cup

ICC World Cup 2019 Automatically Qualifier

Current qualifiers based on current ICC One Day International rankings
South Africa
New Zealand
Sri Lanka

Participants in the 2018 World Cup qualification tournament
West Indies
Papua New Guinea
Hong Kong


ICC World Cup 2019 Venues

Lords, the spiritual home of cricket will play host to the final while The Oval will host the opening game. The two semi-finals according to the English Cricket Board will be played at Edgbaston and Old Trafford. The London stadium will host the opening ceremony and some group stage fixtures. The rest of the games will be played across England and Wales at the grounds which meet the ICCs size and capacity requirements. A list of these stadiums is below.

Stadium City Country Capacity
Lords London Middlesex 28,000
Edgbaston Cricket Ground Birmingham Warwickshire 25,000
Rose Bowl Southampton Hamptonshire 25,000
The Oval London Surrey 23,500
Old Trafford Trentbridge Lancashire 22,000
Riverside Ground Chester Le Street Durham 20,000
Headingley Leads Yorkshire 17,500
Trentbridge Nottingham Nottinghamshire 17,000
County cricket Ground Leeds Gloucestershire 17,000
Sophia Gardens Cardiff Glamorgan 15,640
County Ground Taunton Somerset 8,500

ICC World Cup 2019 Schedule

The opening match of the tournament will be held on 30/05/2019 between England and South Africa and the ending cricket world cup match will be on 14/07/2019 at Lord’s. Here’s the complete list of fixtures by ESPNcricinfo:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *